# Abu Dhabi Global Market (ADGM)

> ADGM publishes 5 current packages, the lowest without stated conditions at AED 5,509 for year 1 (checked 2026-10-24).

Abu Dhabi Global Market (ADGM) is a financial centre free zone in Abu Dhabi, established in 2013. It has its own regulator and legal framework, so costs depend on the activity and are not directly comparable with general free zones.

- Emirate: Abu Dhabi
- Official website: https://www.adgm.com
- Also known as: Abu Dhabi Global Market (ADGM)
- Last checked: 2026-10-24
- Page: https://freezoneguide.com/uae/abu-dhabi/adgm

## Key facts

| Fact | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Solo, no visa (year 1): one founder, no residence visa, no office beyond a desk or virtual address, one activity | AED 5,509 (Tech Start-up (incentivised fee, Hub71 approval letter required)) — Tech Start-up (incentivised fee, Hub71 approval letter required): visa quota not stated |
| Founder + 1 visa (year 1): one founder with one residence visa, flexi-desk or virtual office | Not published |
| Team, 3 visas (year 1): three residence visas, flexi-desk or small office | Not published |
| Lowest package of any size, without stated conditions (year 1) | AED 5,509 (Tech Start-up (incentivised fee, Hub71 approval letter required)) |
| Lowest licence fee | AED 10,283 |
| Largest visa quota in a package | Not published |
| Minimum office | Not published |
| Licence types | — |
| Minimum share capital | None |
| Incorporation time (stated) | — |
| On the FTA VAT Designated Zone list | No |

## Packages

| Package | Year 1 | Renewal | Visa quota | Office | Includes | Excludes |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Category A - Financial (standard RA fees; FSRA approval required first) | AED 62,433 | AED 60,596 | — | — | Name Reservation USD 200; Application for Incorporation USD 300; Commercial Licence fee USD 200; Business Activity fee USD 16,000; Data Protection fee USD 300 | FSRA authorisation fees; Office lease and lease registration fee; Establishment card and E-Channels account; Visas |
| Category B - Non-Financial (standard RA fees) | AED 21,301 | AED 19,464 | — | — | Name Reservation USD 200; Application for Incorporation USD 300; Commercial Licence fee USD 200; Business Activity fee USD 4,800; Data Protection fee USD 300 | Office lease and lease registration fee; Establishment card and E-Channels account; Visas |
| Category C - Retail (standard RA fees) | AED 10,283 | AED 8,447 | — | — | Name Reservation USD 200; Application for Incorporation USD 300; Commercial Licence fee USD 200; Business Activity fee USD 1,800; Data Protection fee USD 300 | Retail store lease and lease registration fee; Establishment card and E-Channels account; Visas |
| Specialized (e.g. SPVs, investment companies, investment partnerships) | AED 6,978 | AED 5,142 | — | No office | Name Reservation USD 200; Application for Incorporation USD 300; Commercial Licence fee USD 200; Business Activity fee USD 900; Data Protection fee USD 300 | Company Service Provider fees (SPVs may need a CSP) |
| Tech Start-up (incentivised fee, Hub71 approval letter required) | AED 5,509 | AED 5,509 | — | — | Incentivised fee for registration and two consecutive renewals (3 years) | Annual Data Protection fees; Dedicated desk or office lease; Establishment card and visas; Reverts to Category B (or Category A for fintech) fees after 3 years |

## Identity and legal basis

- Former, merged or alternative names: Abu Dhabi Global Market (ADGM)
- Parent group / government body: Government of Abu Dhabi (established by Abu Dhabi Law No. 4 of 2013 under Federal Decree No. 15 of 2013)
- Zone type: Financial centre
- Year established: 2013
- Official website: https://www.adgm.com
- Online application portal: https://www.registration.adgm.com
- Listed on the Ministry of Economy and Tourism register of free-zone company registrars: Yes

Public contact email: RA@ADGM.com. [1] Public contact phone: +971 2 333 8888. [1]

Sources: [1] [Zone document (opened 2026-10-24)](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/ADGM-Schedule-of-Fees.pdf/6c5c6ff4b0a911ef9bb96218d165befe)

## Business activities

- Official approved activity list: https://www.adgm.com/documents/faqs/adgm-category-b-non-financial-permitted-business-activities.pdf

Activities needing another authority's approval: Financial services (Category A) - FSRA approval before RA registration. [1]

Sources: [1] [Zone document (opened 2026-10-24)](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/ADGM-Schedule-of-Fees.pdf/6c5c6ff4b0a911ef9bb96218d165befe)

## Cost - year one

- Lowest licence fee (zero-visa): AED 10,283

Establishment / immigration card fee: AED 1,127.27. [1] Visa fees: ADGM GS Fee Schedule (AED, VAT incl.): New Employment Visa inside UAE 2 years 4,149.66; outside UAE 2 years 3,237.39; inside UAE 1 year 2,744.40; outside UAE 1 year 1,936.89; renewal 2 years 2,310.12; renewal 1 year 1,429.62; transfer 3,237.39. Work permit for sponsored employees included in visa package. Prerequisites: establishment card 1,127.27 and E-Channels account 4,197.27. Medical and Emirates ID inclusion not stated. [1] Trade name reservation fee: AED 734.5. [2]

Sources: [1] [Zone document (opened 2026-10-24)](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/GS+Fee+Schedule+26.06.2026.pdf/0924d554643511efb4ba6646cc95a6ef) · [2] [Zone document (opened 2026-10-24)](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/ADGM-Schedule-of-Fees.pdf/6c5c6ff4b0a911ef9bb96218d165befe)

## Cost - ongoing

Renewal costs more than the first-year price: no. [1] Visa renewal cost per person: AED 2,310.12. [2] Visa validity: 2 years. [2] Late renewal penalty: USD 150 per month (AED 550.875) after a one-month grace period, capped at USD 450 (AED 1,652.625); unpaid late fees after 30 days mean the company is not in good standing and portal services are restricted. [3] Renewal grace period: 30 days. [3] Fee to add activity: AED 367.25. [1] Fee for shareholder change: AED 367.25. [1] Fee for name change: AED 367.25. [1] Deregistration / liquidation fee: AED 0. [1] Current promotions and expiry: Tech Start-up incentivised fee USD 1,500 for registration plus two renewals (Hub71 approval letter required); Venture Capital Fund Managers incentivised fee USD 1,500 for 3 years (FSRA-approved); Social Enterprises USD 700 (subject to certification). [1]

Sources: [1] [Zone document (opened 2026-10-24)](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/ADGM-Schedule-of-Fees.pdf/6c5c6ff4b0a911ef9bb96218d165befe) · [2] [Zone document (opened 2026-10-24)](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/GS+Fee+Schedule+26.06.2026.pdf/0924d554643511efb4ba6646cc95a6ef) · [3] [Zone document (opened 2026-10-24)](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/Guidance+-+Late+Filing+Fees.pdf/fd50052eac9a11ef87d2c66409412044)

## Visas and residency

Employee visa available: yes. [1] Dependant / family visa sponsorship allowed: yes. [1] Golden Visa support: Golden Visa holders employed by ADGM entities need an ADGM work permit (AED 300, 3 years). Hub71 offers 5-year business visas to entrepreneurs. No ADGM Golden Visa nomination service found. [2]

Sources: [1] [Zone document (opened 2026-10-24)](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/GS+Fee+Schedule+26.06.2026.pdf/0924d554643511efb4ba6646cc95a6ef) · [2] [Zone document (opened 2026-10-24)](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/ADGM+RA+Work+Permit+Guide.pdf/3b295b4487ce11ef8ad1064e6f3513dc)

## Legal structure and ownership

- Entity types available: Other, Branch of a foreign company, Branch of a UAE company, Special purpose vehicle, Foundation
- Legal system: Common law with its own courts
- Minimum share capital: AED 0

Minimum shareholders: 1. [1] Corporate shareholders allowed: yes. [2] Foreign corporate shareholders allowed: yes. [2] Share capital must be paid in: no. [2] Nominee directors or shareholders: yes. [3] UAE-resident manager required: yes. [2]

Sources: [1] [Zone document (opened 2026-10-24)](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/guidance+entity+types.pdf/7558e7aa63c811ef95f396f3abd4a36a) · [2] [Zone document (opened 2026-10-24)](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/Private+Company+Limited+by+Shares+-+Non-Financial+Services.pdf/c214f1f25a4411ef82f4b295bac3477d) · [3] [Zone document (opened 2026-10-24)](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/Guidance+-+Late+Filing+Fees.pdf/fd50052eac9a11ef87d2c66409412044)

## Tax status

- VAT Designated Zone (per the FTA list): No

The zone states that it is a Free Zone for UAE corporate-tax purposes: yes. [1] The zone states that its companies can qualify as a Qualifying Free Zone Person: yes. [1] Corporate-tax statements above come from the zone or from general FTA guidance. The schedule of Free Zones under Cabinet Resolution 54/2023 was not available to this research, and the FTA advises taxpayers to confirm their Free Zone or Designated Zone status with the Free Zone authority. The 0% rate applies only to the Qualifying Income of a Qualifying Free Zone Person that meets all conditions; other income is taxed at the standard rate.

Sources: [1] [Zone document (opened 2026-10-24)](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/Guidance+on+accounts+and+audit+for+ADGM+QFZPs+20250825.pdf/79e4975c7cd011f0aee49a1bb17f55cc)

## Compliance and reporting

- Annual audited financial statements required by the zone: Yes
- Beneficial-owner register filing required: Yes

Audit exemption threshold or conditions: Audit exemption for small companies (turnover not more than USD 13.5 million and not more than 35 employees; small groups USD 13.5m net / USD 16.2m gross), certain subsidiaries of ADGM parents (with parent guarantee), and dormant companies. Exemption lost if members require audit; QFZPs need an audit to keep the 0% CT rate. [1] Activities needing anti-money-laundering registration: Real estate developer or agency transacting in the buying/selling of real property; Dealer in precious metals or precious stones; Dealer in any saleable item of a price greater than or equal to US$15,000; Law Firm; Notary Firm; Other Independent Legal business; Accounting Firm; Audit or insolvency Firm; Company Service Provider. [2] Data protection law applicable: ADGM Data Protection Regulations; registration with the ADGM Office of Data Protection required at incorporation and renewed annually (USD 300); data protection contact person required. [3] Corporate-tax statements above come from the zone or from general FTA guidance. The schedule of Free Zones under Cabinet Resolution 54/2023 was not available to this research, and the FTA advises taxpayers to confirm their Free Zone or Designated Zone status with the Free Zone authority. The 0% rate applies only to the Qualifying Income of a Qualifying Free Zone Person that meets all conditions; other income is taxed at the standard rate.

Sources: [1] [Zone document (opened 2026-10-24)](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/Guidance+on+accounts+and+audit+for+ADGM+QFZPs+20250825.pdf/79e4975c7cd011f0aee49a1bb17f55cc) · [2] [Zone document (opened 2026-10-24)](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/Private+Company+Limited+by+Shares+-+Non-Financial+Services.pdf/c214f1f25a4411ef82f4b295bac3477d) · [3] [Zone document (opened 2026-10-24)](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/ADGM-Schedule-of-Fees.pdf/6c5c6ff4b0a911ef9bb96218d165befe)

## Setup process and speed

Documents for an individual shareholder: Business plan; Ownership structure chart identifying UBOs; Articles of association (model or bespoke); Resolution for incorporation; Passport copies of all nationalities (and Emirates ID where applicable); Proof of residential address (not older than 3 months, English); Signed lease agreement / lease registration; Source of wealth declaration (if requested); Data protection contact person details. [1] Attestation requirements for corporate shareholders: Certificate of incorporation plus registers of members and directors certified as true copies by a director, secretary or registered agent within the last 3 months; certified legal English translation for foreign-language documents; board resolution; notarisation not required unless requested by the Registrar. [1] Refund policy if rejected: Incorporation fees are non-refundable if the application is withdrawn or rejected. [2]

Sources: [1] [Zone document (opened 2026-10-24)](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/Private+Company+Limited+by+Shares+-+Non-Financial+Services.pdf/c214f1f25a4411ef82f4b295bac3477d) · [2] [Zone document (opened 2026-10-24)](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/ADGM-Schedule-of-Fees.pdf/6c5c6ff4b0a911ef9bb96218d165befe)

## Operations, ecosystem and flexibility

Moving to larger premises: Licence category variation fees: Category C to B USD 3,100; B to A USD 11,300 (A also needs FSRA authorisation); SPV to B USD 4,000; SPV to A USD 15,200; incentivised to standard category pays that category's activity fee plus variation fee. Office upgrades are arranged with private landlords. [1] Adding shareholders: Online filings: Notice of Share Transfer USD 100, amendment of share capital USD 100, beneficial ownership change within 15 business days (late fee USD 150/month, max USD 450). [1] Moving a company in or out (re-domiciliation): yes. [1]

Sources: [1] [Zone document (opened 2026-10-24)](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/ADGM-Schedule-of-Fees.pdf/6c5c6ff4b0a911ef9bb96218d165befe)

## Freelancer and solo founder

- Freelancer permit available: No

## Industry-specific regulation

Financial services regulator and capital requirements: Financial Services Regulatory Authority (FSRA) of ADGM. Category 4 firms: Base Capital Requirement USD 50,000 (USD 150,000 if operating a private financing platform); custody for a non-public fund BCR USD 250,000; firms holding client assets also subject to expenditure-based capital minimum. Financial applicants obtain FSRA in-principle approval before RA registration. [1]

Sources: [1] [Zone document (opened 2026-10-24)](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/Prudential+Requirements+for+Lower+Risk+Firms.pdf/8b2d9fb087eb11f085612ee6b251174d)

## Notes and history

- **Legal basis (2013):** ADGM was set up as a financial free zone in the Emirate of Abu Dhabi under the federal Financial Free Zones Law (Federal Law No. 8 of 2004), Federal Decree No. 15 of 2013 and Abu Dhabi Law No. 4 of 2013, which ADGM calls its founding law. It has three authorities: the Registration Authority (company registrar and commercial licensing), the Financial Services Regulatory Authority (FSRA) and the ADGM Courts. [source](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/ADGM+RA+Work+Permit+Guide.pdf/3b295b4487ce11ef8ad1064e6f3513dc) [source](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/Guidance+-+Late+Filing+Fees.pdf/fd50052eac9a11ef87d2c66409412044)
- **Legal basis (2015):** Under ADGM's Application of English Law Regulations 2015, English common law applies directly in ADGM. ADGM's guidance on these regulations states that UAE federal civil and commercial laws, and other Abu Dhabi laws unless an ADGM enactment applies them, do not apply in ADGM. [source](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/adgm-guidance-application-of-english-laws.pdf/58871c7eb0a711ef916e5ef481f270ea)
- **Good to know:** Employment in ADGM is governed by the ADGM Employment Regulations 2019 rather than the federal labour law, according to ADGM's Work Permit Guide (August 2025). [source](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/ADGM+RA+Work+Permit+Guide.pdf/3b295b4487ce11ef8ad1064e6f3513dc)
- **History (2024-10-31):** ADGM's jurisdiction covers Al Reem Island as well as Al Maryah Island. Its October 2024 guidance for Al Reem retailers explains how businesses holding Abu Dhabi DED licences on the island move to ADGM, by new registration or by continuation with a DED no-objection certificate, and says the fee waiver for existing retailers migrating to ADGM ended on 31 October 2024. [source](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/Retailer+Guidance+Document+EN.pdf/fbbe86c886f111efb527b25acffb668e)
- **History (2025-08-19):** Amendments to the FSRA's prudential rules for lower-risk firms took effect on 19 August 2025; they set the base capital requirement for most Category 4 firms at USD 50,000, according to an FSRA letter to authorised firms dated 2 September 2025. [source](https://assets.adgm.com/download/assets/Prudential+Requirements+for+Lower+Risk+Firms.pdf/8b2d9fb087eb11f085612ee6b251174d)

## FAQ

### How much does a ADGM licence cost?

The lowest package ADGM advertises is AED 5,509 for the first year (Tech Start-up (incentivised fee, Hub71 approval letter required)), renewing at AED 5,509. Packages differ in what they include, so check visas, office and fees before comparing.

### Is ADGM a VAT Designated Zone?

ADGM does not appear on the Federal Tax Authority's list of VAT Designated Zones.

### What is the minimum share capital in ADGM?

ADGM states no minimum share capital.

## Compare with

- [ADGM vs DIFC](https://freezoneguide.com/uae/compare/adgm-vs-difc)

Rules that apply to every zone: [corporate tax](https://freezoneguide.com/guides/qualifying-free-zone-person-corporate-tax.md), [VAT Designated Zones](https://freezoneguide.com/guides/vat-designated-zones.md), [mainland access](https://freezoneguide.com/guides/free-zone-vs-mainland.md)

---
Information collected from free-zone authorities and UAE government sources on the dates shown. Fees and rules change; the zone's current schedule prevails. Not legal, tax or financial advice.
---
Source: FreezoneGuide (https://freezoneguide.com/). AED, as published by each zone on its official channels. Information collected from free-zone authorities and UAE government sources on the dates shown. Fees and rules change; the zone's current schedule prevails. Not legal, tax or financial advice.