# Ajman Free Zone (AFZ)

> AFZ does not publish package prices on its own channels and requires at least a flexi-desk (checked 2026-10-24).

Ajman Free Zone (AFZ) is a general business, industrial and e-commerce free zone in Ajman, licensed by Free Zones Authority - Ajman, established in 1988.

- Emirate: Ajman
- Licensing authority: Free Zones Authority - Ajman
- Official website: https://afz.gov.ae/
- Also known as: Ajman Free Zone (AFZA)
- Last checked: 2026-10-24
- Page: https://freezoneguide.com/uae/ajman/afza

## Key facts

| Fact | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Solo, no visa (year 1): one founder, no residence visa, no office beyond a desk or virtual address, one activity | Not published |
| Founder + 1 visa (year 1): one founder with one residence visa, flexi-desk or virtual office | Not published |
| Team, 3 visas (year 1): three residence visas, flexi-desk or small office | Not published |
| Lowest package of any size, without stated conditions (year 1) | Not published |
| Lowest licence fee | Not published |
| Largest visa quota in a package | Not published |
| Minimum office | Flexi-desk |
| Licence types | Trading, General trading, Services / consultancy, Industrial, E-commerce, Freelancer, Other |
| Minimum share capital | Not published |
| Incorporation time (stated) | — |
| On the FTA VAT Designated Zone list | Yes |

## Identity and legal basis

- Official name (Arabic): منطقة عجمان الحرة
- Former, merged or alternative names: Ajman Free Zone (AFZA)
- Licensing / regulating authority: Free Zones Authority - Ajman
- Parent group / government body: Government of Ajman (public-sector authority granted independent status by the Ruler of Ajman)
- Zone type: General business, Industrial, E-commerce
- Year established: 1988
- Official website: https://afz.gov.ae/
- Online application portal: https://eportal.afz.gov.ae/fzaoneclick/s/sign-in
- Listed on the Ministry of Economy and Tourism register of free-zone company registrars: Yes

Physical locations / campuses: Gate 1 (main free zone area); Gate 2; Ajman Boulevard; Al Zorah Business Center; Amber Gem Tower; Business Cube; China Mall; Ajman Car Market. [1] Public contact email: info@afz.ae. [2] Public contact phone: 800 AFZA (800 2392); international +971 6 701 1555. [2] Number of registered companies: 9,000. [3]

Sources: [1] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/resources/our-story.html) · [2] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/help-and-support/contact-us.html) · [3] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/about-us/profile.html)

## Business activities

- Official approved activity list: https://afz.gov.ae/activity-list/
- Licence types offered: Trading, General trading, Services / consultancy, Industrial, E-commerce, Freelancer, Other
- General trading licence available: Yes

Activity categories offered: Commercial; Services; Industrial; General Trading; E-Commerce; Freelancer. [1] Trading and services on one licence: no. [2] Conditions for general trading: General trading licence carries one activity only; covers all goods except diesel, oil, crude oil, cars and garments, and except goods needing special licences. [2]

Sources: [1] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/activity-list/) · [2] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/help-and-support/faqs.html)

## Cost - year one

Visa fees: AFZ publishes only partial items: labour insurance AED 265 per employee (mandatory since 1 Sep 2019, covers unpaid wages/end-of-service up to AED 20,000 per worker); company E-Channel renewal AED 1,100 per year; medical test at Al Hamidiya Health Center, Ajman (fee not stated). Entry permit, status change, residence and Emirates ID fees are not stated by AFZ. [1] MoA / notary / attestation fees: AED 2,000. [1]

Sources: [1] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/help-and-support/faqs.html)

## Cost - ongoing

Renewal grace period: 30 days. [1] Fee for shareholder change: AED 4,035. [2] Deregistration / liquidation fee: AED 2,500. [1]

Sources: [1] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/help-and-support/faqs.html) · [2] [Calculated from the zone's figures (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/help-and-support/faqs.html)

## Visas and residency

Visa quota rule: Quota is fixed per facility/package. Published: Executive Offices - two resident visas; Offices (furnished) - two resident visas; Freelancer & Pioneers Hub - two residence visas plus family sponsorship (licence-types page and FAQ: one visa for Pioneers; FAQ: two for Freelancer); Warehouses and short-term warehouses (from 100 sqm) - minimum of 14 resident visas; Land (from 1,000 sqm) - quotas tailored to the investor; Business Centre - no quota published. Additional quota is location-based and subject to Immigration approval. [1] How to increase quota and cost: Additional quota depends on the location held; upgrade via a 'Change location' service request in the customer portal; extra visas processed subject to Immigration approval. Cost not published. [2] Investor / partner visa available: yes. [3] Employee visa available: yes. [3] Dependant / family visa sponsorship allowed: yes. [2] Golden Visa support: FAQ explains federal Golden Visa categories (Cabinet Resolution 8/2021, ICP); no AFZ-specific nomination or support service described. [2] Time in the UAE to keep a visa valid: AFZ FAQ: an investor/partner holding a valid UAE residence visa may re-enter within one year of the exit date; a visa of someone outside the UAE for six months or more can be cancelled without the original passport. [2] Visa process can start before the founder arrives: yes. [2]

Sources: [1] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/start-your-business/product.html) · [2] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/help-and-support/faqs.html) · [3] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/start-your-business/product/executive_offices.html)

## Office and facilities

- Minimum facility requirement: Flexi-desk
- Office / facility types: Flexi-desk, Serviced office, Private office, Warehouse, Light industrial unit, Land plot, Retail unit, Staff accommodation
- Warehouse available: Yes

Flexi-desk access terms: Freelancer & Pioneers Hub: open 24-hour office space; Business Centre: 24-hour security and full accessibility. [1] Warehouse sizes: From 100 sqm (pre-built, eco-friendly and short-term warehouses); land plots from 1,000 sqm. [2] Cold storage available: yes. [3] Land plots for build-to-suit: yes. [4] Meeting rooms, co-working, amenities: Shared co-working spaces; Bookable meeting rooms; Lounges with open canteen (free tea and coffee); Free Wi-Fi and laptops; 24-hour security and surveillance; Networking lounge. [5]

Sources: [1] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/start-your-business/product/freelancer-and-pioneers-hub.html) · [2] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/start-your-business/product/warehouses.html) · [3] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/start-your-business/product/eco-friendly-zone.html) · [4] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/start-your-business/product/land.html) · [5] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/start-your-business/product/business-center.html)

## Legal structure and ownership

- Entity types available: FZE (single shareholder), FZCO (several shareholders), Branch of a UAE company, Branch of a foreign company, Other
- Legal system: UAE civil law

Maximum shareholders: 5. [1] Corporate shareholders allowed: yes. [1] Foreign corporate shareholders allowed: yes. [1] UAE-resident manager required: yes. [1] Courts and arbitration: AFZ dispute-resolution office for amicable settlement (labour); unresolved complaints referred to the competent UAE court. [2] Holding company / SPV regime: yes. [3]

Sources: [1] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/help-and-support/faqs.html) · [2] [Zone document (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/help-and-support/~/media/Files/Rules%20And%20Regulations/AFZ%20Rules%20And%20Regulations/New/general%20guidelines%20english.pdf) · [3] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/start-your-business/business-license-types.html)

## Market access and customs

Rules for selling/shipping to UAE consumers: Selling online through third-party portals to clients in the UAE and abroad requires an E-commerce licence (not the Freelancer Package); an E-commerce licence holder needs a separate licence with an import/export activity to import goods. [1]

Sources: [1] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/help-and-support/faqs.html)

## Tax status

- VAT Designated Zone (per the FTA list): Yes

## Compliance and reporting

- Beneficial-owner register filing required: Yes

Substance requirements enforced by zone: No zone-specific substance rule found; AFZ FAQ reproduces federal Economic Substance Regulations guidance (Cabinet Resolution 57/2020, Ministerial Decision 100/2020). [1] Activities needing anti-money-laundering registration: Brokers and real estate; Dealers in precious metals and precious stones; Independent accountants & auditors; Legal consultancy; Company service providers. [1] Wage Protection System applies: yes. [1] Annual return and renewal documents: Trade licence renewal request via customer portal; Establishment card renewal (expiry separate from licence); E-Channel renewal (AED 1,100 per year); Lease renewal for the facility; UBO/shareholder register updates within 15 days of any change. [1]

Sources: [1] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/help-and-support/faqs.html)

## Banking

- Zone offers bank-account facilitation: Yes

## Setup process and speed

- Direct application without an agent: Yes

Documents for an individual shareholder: Passport copy valid for at least 6 months; Coloured photograph; No Objection Letter from sponsor if the applicant is a UAE resident; Visa copy or UID. [1] Attestation requirements for corporate shareholders: Corporate partner documents: MoA or AoA, board resolution, certificate of incorporation, power of attorney, passport copy of representative/manager, registration certificate from the home-country authority; feasibility study for industrial and services enterprises. Attestation/legalisation level not stated. [2] Trade name rules: Name change via portal 'Company Amendments' request with a 15-day advertisement period; legal-form suffix (FZE/FZC) applies. No other naming rules published. [2] Refund policy if rejected: Service-request fees are non-refundable once paid; unused entry-permit fees non-refundable; guarantees (office, visa, E-Channel) refunded after cancellation within about 10 working days on request. [2]

Sources: [1] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/start-your-business/type-of-business.html) · [2] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/help-and-support/faqs.html)

## Operations, ecosystem and flexibility

Moving to larger premises: Office upgrade/downgrade via 'Change location' portal request; Freelancer Package cannot move to Business Centre (change licence type instead) and higher packages cannot downgrade to Freelancer (cancel and reapply). [1] Adding shareholders: Portal request (Add Partner / Replace Shareholders) with security approval and 14-day newspaper announcement; add-partner fees total AED 4,035 (see G04). [1] Multi-year licence options: 1-3 year renewal options (Offices, Executive Offices); Land: 3 years or more upfront payment accepted. [2] Multiple licences under one group: yes. [1]

Sources: [1] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/help-and-support/faqs.html) · [2] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/start-your-business/product/offices.html)

## Freelancer and solo founder

- Freelancer permit available: Yes

## Industry-specific regulation

Healthcare and education approvals: AFZ publishes a Technical Guidelines Manual for Health-Related Activities and HSE requirements for health/food establishments; external approving bodies not listed. [1] Hazardous goods and environmental approvals: AFZ publishes a Technical Guidelines Manual for Industrial Activities and activity-specific HSE requirements (chemical storage, diesel, dyes, welding, furniture, fiberglass, clothes); civil defence certificate obtained from Ajman Civil Defence. [1]

Sources: [1] [Zone website (opened 2026-10-24)](https://afz.gov.ae/en/help-and-support/rules-and-regulations.html)

## Notes and history

- **Good to know:** The zone is marketed as Ajman Free Zone (AFZ), while its FAQ and customer portal refer to the regulator as the Free Zones Authority – Ajman. A 2025 article on the zone's own website says this authority, led by H.E. Ismail Al Naqi, also covers Ajman Media City and Al Zorah. [source](https://afz.gov.ae/en/help-and-support/faqs.html) [source](https://afz.gov.ae/en/resources/blogs/2025/how-ajman-is-carving-out-its-place-in-the-gulf.html)
- **Legal basis (1988):** Ajman Free Zone was launched in 1988 and was granted independent status by H.H. Sheikh Humaid bin Rashid Al Nuaimi, Ruler of Ajman. On the Ministry of Economy's list of free-zone company registrars, Ajman Free Zone and Ajman Media City both appear under the Ajman Free Zone Licensing Authority. [source](https://afz.gov.ae/en/about-us/profile.html) [source](https://www.moet.gov.ae/documents/20121/416990/AJMAN+Free+zone+Eng.pdf/63599fc1-d432-6986-d343-2671aec14010?t=1631908160216) [source](https://www.moet.gov.ae/en/company-registrars-in-free-zones)
- **History (1995):** According to the zone's timeline, Gate 1 was established in 1995 with an area of 342,746 sq m and Gate 2 in 2001 with 252,529 sq m. Business blocks A1, B1 and C1 added a further 14,462 sq m in 2005. [source](https://afz.gov.ae/en/resources/our-story.html)
- **Good to know:** Besides its two gates, the zone operates several separate sites: it signed an agreement with China Mall in 2010, launched the Ajman Car Market in 2014, signed an agreement in 2019 to manage the Al Zorah Business Center, and announced the Ajman Boulevard commercial complex in 2020. [source](https://afz.gov.ae/en/resources/our-story.html)
- **History (2021):** In 2021 the zone launched an E-commerce Hub with co-working space and an AI Robotics Hub offering digital access to its services, and added new warehouses near Ajman Port from 100 sq m. [source](https://afz.gov.ae/en/resources/our-story.html)

## FAQ

### Does AFZ require a physical office?

The minimum facility AFZ states is: flexi-desk. Facility types offered: flexi-desk, serviced office, private office, warehouse, light industrial unit, land plot, retail unit, staff accommodation.

### Can I get a general trading licence in AFZ?

Yes, AFZ offers a general trading licence.

### Is AFZ a VAT Designated Zone?

AFZ appears on the Federal Tax Authority's list of VAT Designated Zones. Often only some areas of a zone are designated; see the tax section and confirm with the zone.

## Compare with

- [AFZ vs AMCFZ](https://freezoneguide.com/uae/compare/afza-vs-ajman-media-city)
- [AFZ vs ANCFZ](https://freezoneguide.com/uae/compare/custom?z=afza&z=ancfz)
- [AFZ vs DAFZ](https://freezoneguide.com/uae/compare/custom?z=afza&z=dafza)

Rules that apply to every zone: [corporate tax](https://freezoneguide.com/guides/qualifying-free-zone-person-corporate-tax.md), [VAT Designated Zones](https://freezoneguide.com/guides/vat-designated-zones.md), [mainland access](https://freezoneguide.com/guides/free-zone-vs-mainland.md)

---
Information collected from free-zone authorities and UAE government sources on the dates shown. Fees and rules change; the zone's current schedule prevails. Not legal, tax or financial advice.
---
Source: FreezoneGuide (https://freezoneguide.com/). AED, as published by each zone on its official channels. Information collected from free-zone authorities and UAE government sources on the dates shown. Fees and rules change; the zone's current schedule prevails. Not legal, tax or financial advice.