Skip to content
FreezoneGuide
Abu DhabiFinancial centreFinancial centre✓ Checked 2026-10-24

Abu Dhabi Global Market (ADGM)

ADGM publishes 5 current packages, the lowest without stated conditions at AED 5,509 for year 1 (checked 2026-10-24).

Abu Dhabi Global Market (ADGM) is a financial centre free zone in Abu Dhabi, established in 2013. It has its own regulator and legal framework, so costs depend on the activity and are not directly comparable with general free zones.

Official sources onlyOfficial site ↗Online portal ↗

Key facts

Solo, no visa · year 1
AED 5,509
Tech Start-up (incentivised fee, Hub71 approval letter required): visa quota not stated
Founder + 1 visa · year 1
Not published
No published package for 1 visa with this office type. One founder with one residence visa, flexi-desk or virtual office.
Team, 3 visas · year 1
Not published
No published package for 3 visas with this office type. Three residence visas, flexi-desk or small office.
Lowest package, any size
AED 5,509
Tech Start-up (incentivised fee, Hub71 approval letter required) · packages with stated conditions excluded
Licence fee from
AED 10,283
Largest visa quota
Not published
No package states a quota
Minimum office
Not published
Incorporation
—
Min. share capital
None
General trading
Not published
VAT Designated Zone
No
FTA list
Annual audit
Yes

Verified on 2026-10-24 from assets.adgm.com, tax.gov.ae.

Figures as published by the zone. “Not published” means no official source states it. Scenario prices are the published package closest to each set-up: solo, no visa = one founder, no residence visa, no office beyond a desk or virtual address, one activity; founder + 1 visa = one founder with one residence visa, flexi-desk or virtual office; team, 3 visas = three residence visas, flexi-desk or small office.

Financial centre. ADGM has its own regulator and legal framework. Costs depend on the licence category and are not directly comparable with general free zones, so it is left out of price rankings by default.

Published packages

Category A - Financial (standard RA fees; FSRA approval required first)

AED 62,433year 1

  • Name Reservation USD 200
  • Application for Incorporation USD 300
  • Commercial Licence fee USD 200
  • Business Activity fee USD 16,000
  • Data Protection fee USD 300
  • Not included: FSRA authorisation fees
  • Not included: Office lease and lease registration fee
  • Not included: Establishment card and E-Channels account
  • Not included: Visas
Renews AED 60,596Source ↗

Category B - Non-Financial (standard RA fees)

AED 21,301year 1

  • Name Reservation USD 200
  • Application for Incorporation USD 300
  • Commercial Licence fee USD 200
  • Business Activity fee USD 4,800
  • Data Protection fee USD 300
  • Not included: Office lease and lease registration fee
  • Not included: Establishment card and E-Channels account
  • Not included: Visas
Renews AED 19,464Source ↗

Category C - Retail (standard RA fees)

AED 10,283year 1

  • Name Reservation USD 200
  • Application for Incorporation USD 300
  • Commercial Licence fee USD 200
  • Business Activity fee USD 1,800
  • Data Protection fee USD 300
  • Not included: Retail store lease and lease registration fee
  • Not included: Establishment card and E-Channels account
  • Not included: Visas
Renews AED 8,447Source ↗

Specialized (e.g. SPVs, investment companies, investment partnerships)

AED 6,978year 1

No office

  • Name Reservation USD 200
  • Application for Incorporation USD 300
  • Commercial Licence fee USD 200
  • Business Activity fee USD 900
  • Data Protection fee USD 300
  • Not included: Company Service Provider fees (SPVs may need a CSP)
Renews AED 5,142Source ↗
Lowest priceFits: Solo, no visa

Tech Start-up (incentivised fee, Hub71 approval letter required)

AED 5,509year 1

  • Incentivised fee for registration and two consecutive renewals (3 years)
  • Not included: Annual Data Protection fees
  • Not included: Dedicated desk or office lease
  • Not included: Establishment card and visas
  • Not included: Reverts to Category B (or Category A for fintech) fees after 3 years
Renews AED 5,509Source ↗

Verified on 2026-10-24 from assets.adgm.com.

Packages differ in what they include; compare visas, office and fees before choosing.

Identity and legal basis

Former, merged or alternative names
Abu Dhabi Global Market (ADGM) ↗
Parent group / government body
Government of Abu Dhabi (established by Abu Dhabi Law No. 4 of 2013 under Federal Decree No. 15 of 2013) ↗
Zone type
Financial centre ↗
Year established
2013 ↗
Official website
adgm.com ↗
Online application portal
registration.adgm.com ↗
Listed on the Ministry of Economy and Tourism register of free-zone company registrars
Yes ↗
  • Public contact email: RA@ADGM.com. [1]
  • Public contact phone: +971 2 333 8888. [1]
  1. [1] assets.adgm.com · opened 2026-10-24

Verified on 2026-10-24 from assets.adgm.com, moet.gov.ae.

Business activities

  • Activities needing another authority's approval: Financial services (Category A) - FSRA approval before RA registration. [1]
  1. [1] assets.adgm.com · opened 2026-10-24

Verified on 2026-10-24 from assets.adgm.com.

Cost - year one

Lowest licence fee (zero-visa)
AED 10,283 ↗
  • Establishment / immigration card fee: AED 1,127.27. [1]
  • Visa fees: ADGM GS Fee Schedule (AED, VAT incl.): New Employment Visa inside UAE 2 years 4,149.66; outside UAE 2 years 3,237.39; inside UAE 1 year 2,744.40; outside UAE 1 year 1,936.89; renewal 2 years 2,310.12; renewal 1 year 1,429.62; transfer 3,237.39. Work permit for sponsored employees included in visa package. Prerequisites: establishment card 1,127.27 and E-Channels account 4,197.27. Medical and Emirates ID inclusion not stated. [1]
  • Trade name reservation fee: AED 734.5. [2]
  1. [1] assets.adgm.com · opened 2026-10-24
  2. [2] assets.adgm.com · opened 2026-10-24

Verified on 2026-10-24 from assets.adgm.com.

Cost - ongoing

  • Renewal costs more than the first-year price: no. [1]
  • Visa renewal cost per person: AED 2,310.12. [2]
  • Visa validity: 2 years. [2]
  • Late renewal penalty: USD 150 per month (AED 550.875) after a one-month grace period, capped at USD 450 (AED 1,652.625); unpaid late fees after 30 days mean the company is not in good standing and portal services are restricted. [3]
  • Renewal grace period: 30 days. [3]
  • Fee to add activity: AED 367.25. [1]
  • Fee for shareholder change: AED 367.25. [1]
  • Fee for name change: AED 367.25. [1]
  • Deregistration / liquidation fee: AED 0. [1]
  • Current promotions and expiry: Tech Start-up incentivised fee USD 1,500 for registration plus two renewals (Hub71 approval letter required); Venture Capital Fund Managers incentivised fee USD 1,500 for 3 years (FSRA-approved); Social Enterprises USD 700 (subject to certification). [1]
  1. [1] assets.adgm.com · opened 2026-10-24
  2. [2] assets.adgm.com · opened 2026-10-24
  3. [3] assets.adgm.com · opened 2026-10-24

Verified on 2026-10-24 from assets.adgm.com.

Visas and residency

  • Employee visa available: yes. [1]
  • Dependant / family visa sponsorship allowed: yes. [1]
  • Golden Visa support: Golden Visa holders employed by ADGM entities need an ADGM work permit (AED 300, 3 years). Hub71 offers 5-year business visas to entrepreneurs. No ADGM Golden Visa nomination service found. [2]
  1. [1] assets.adgm.com · opened 2026-10-24
  2. [2] assets.adgm.com · opened 2026-10-24

Verified on 2026-10-24 from assets.adgm.com.

Tax status

VAT Designated Zone (per the FTA list)
No ↗
  • The zone states that it is a Free Zone for UAE corporate-tax purposes: yes. [1]
  • The zone states that its companies can qualify as a Qualifying Free Zone Person: yes. [1]

Corporate-tax statements above come from the zone or from general FTA guidance. The schedule of Free Zones under Cabinet Resolution 54/2023 was not available to this research, and the FTA advises taxpayers to confirm their Free Zone or Designated Zone status with the Free Zone authority. The 0% rate applies only to the Qualifying Income of a Qualifying Free Zone Person that meets all conditions; other income is taxed at the standard rate.

  1. [1] assets.adgm.com · opened 2026-10-24

Verified on 2026-10-24 from tax.gov.ae, assets.adgm.com.

Compliance and reporting

Annual audited financial statements required by the zone
Yes ↗
Beneficial-owner register filing required
Yes ↗
  • Audit exemption threshold or conditions: Audit exemption for small companies (turnover not more than USD 13.5 million and not more than 35 employees; small groups USD 13.5m net / USD 16.2m gross), certain subsidiaries of ADGM parents (with parent guarantee), and dormant companies. Exemption lost if members require audit; QFZPs need an audit to keep the 0% CT rate. [1]
  • Activities needing anti-money-laundering registration: Real estate developer or agency transacting in the buying/selling of real property; Dealer in precious metals or precious stones; Dealer in any saleable item of a price greater than or equal to US$15,000; Law Firm; Notary Firm; Other Independent Legal business; Accounting Firm; Audit or insolvency Firm; Company Service Provider. [2]
  • Data protection law applicable: ADGM Data Protection Regulations; registration with the ADGM Office of Data Protection required at incorporation and renewed annually (USD 300); data protection contact person required. [3]

Corporate-tax statements above come from the zone or from general FTA guidance. The schedule of Free Zones under Cabinet Resolution 54/2023 was not available to this research, and the FTA advises taxpayers to confirm their Free Zone or Designated Zone status with the Free Zone authority. The 0% rate applies only to the Qualifying Income of a Qualifying Free Zone Person that meets all conditions; other income is taxed at the standard rate.

  1. [1] assets.adgm.com · opened 2026-10-24
  2. [2] assets.adgm.com · opened 2026-10-24
  3. [3] assets.adgm.com · opened 2026-10-24

Verified on 2026-10-24 from assets.adgm.com.

Setup process and speed

  • Documents for an individual shareholder: Business plan; Ownership structure chart identifying UBOs; Articles of association (model or bespoke); Resolution for incorporation; Passport copies of all nationalities (and Emirates ID where applicable); Proof of residential address (not older than 3 months, English); Signed lease agreement / lease registration; Source of wealth declaration (if requested); Data protection contact person details. [1]
  • Attestation requirements for corporate shareholders: Certificate of incorporation plus registers of members and directors certified as true copies by a director, secretary or registered agent within the last 3 months; certified legal English translation for foreign-language documents; board resolution; notarisation not required unless requested by the Registrar. [1]
  • Refund policy if rejected: Incorporation fees are non-refundable if the application is withdrawn or rejected. [2]
  1. [1] assets.adgm.com · opened 2026-10-24
  2. [2] assets.adgm.com · opened 2026-10-24

Verified on 2026-10-24 from assets.adgm.com.

Operations, ecosystem and flexibility

  • Moving to larger premises: Licence category variation fees: Category C to B USD 3,100; B to A USD 11,300 (A also needs FSRA authorisation); SPV to B USD 4,000; SPV to A USD 15,200; incentivised to standard category pays that category's activity fee plus variation fee. Office upgrades are arranged with private landlords. [1]
  • Adding shareholders: Online filings: Notice of Share Transfer USD 100, amendment of share capital USD 100, beneficial ownership change within 15 business days (late fee USD 150/month, max USD 450). [1]
  • Moving a company in or out (re-domiciliation): yes. [1]
  1. [1] assets.adgm.com · opened 2026-10-24

Verified on 2026-10-24 from assets.adgm.com.

Freelancer and solo founder

Freelancer permit available
No ↗

Verified on 2026-10-24 from assets.adgm.com.

Industry-specific regulation

  • Financial services regulator and capital requirements: Financial Services Regulatory Authority (FSRA) of ADGM. Category 4 firms: Base Capital Requirement USD 50,000 (USD 150,000 if operating a private financing platform); custody for a non-public fund BCR USD 250,000; firms holding client assets also subject to expenditure-based capital minimum. Financial applicants obtain FSRA in-principle approval before RA registration. [1]
  1. [1] assets.adgm.com · opened 2026-10-24

Verified on 2026-10-24 from assets.adgm.com.

Activity fit (our view)

Likely possible

Needs a regulator's approval

Our assessment from the zone's published licence types. Always confirm your exact activity on the zone's official activity list. Official activity list ↗

Notes and history

  1. Legal basis · 2013

    ADGM was set up as a financial free zone in the Emirate of Abu Dhabi under the federal Financial Free Zones Law (Federal Law No. 8 of 2004), Federal Decree No. 15 of 2013 and Abu Dhabi Law No. 4 of 2013, which ADGM calls its founding law. It has three authorities: the Registration Authority (company registrar and commercial licensing), the Financial Services Regulatory Authority (FSRA) and the ADGM Courts. [source 1][source 2]

  2. Legal basis · 2015

    Under ADGM's Application of English Law Regulations 2015, English common law applies directly in ADGM. ADGM's guidance on these regulations states that UAE federal civil and commercial laws, and other Abu Dhabi laws unless an ADGM enactment applies them, do not apply in ADGM. [source]

  3. History · 2024-10-31

    ADGM's jurisdiction covers Al Reem Island as well as Al Maryah Island. Its October 2024 guidance for Al Reem retailers explains how businesses holding Abu Dhabi DED licences on the island move to ADGM, by new registration or by continuation with a DED no-objection certificate, and says the fee waiver for existing retailers migrating to ADGM ended on 31 October 2024. [source]

  4. History · 2025-08-19

    Amendments to the FSRA's prudential rules for lower-risk firms took effect on 19 August 2025; they set the base capital requirement for most Category 4 firms at USD 50,000, according to an FSRA letter to authorised firms dated 2 September 2025. [source]

  5. Good to know

    Employment in ADGM is governed by the ADGM Employment Regulations 2019 rather than the federal labour law, according to ADGM's Work Permit Guide (August 2025). [source]

Verified on 2026-10-24 from assets.adgm.com.

Questions worth asking

How much does a ADGM licence cost?

The lowest package ADGM advertises is AED 5,509 for the first year (Tech Start-up (incentivised fee, Hub71 approval letter required)), renewing at AED 5,509. Packages differ in what they include, so check visas, office and fees before comparing.

Is ADGM a VAT Designated Zone?

ADGM does not appear on the Federal Tax Authority's list of VAT Designated Zones.

What is the minimum share capital in ADGM?

ADGM states no minimum share capital.

About this data

Every fact comes from ADGM's own channels or a UAE government source, linked next to it. Last checked 2026-10-24. Information collected from free-zone authorities and UAE government sources on the dates shown. Fees and rules change; the zone's current schedule prevails. Not legal, tax or financial advice.

Rules for every zone

Explained in the guides on corporate tax, VAT Designated Zones and mainland access.

How we check

Prices are re-checked every 90 days and other facts on a schedule. How we verify →